Lucky? Lightning strikes Spanish man’s scrotum – No, you read that right

I’m not sure what amuses me most about this story. It could be the dramatic surprise that after getting his nuts roasted by a ba-zillion volts, this poor 53 year old would pass out. Or it could be the funny comment by the Doctors.

But first the story.

A Madrid man survived an unusual lightning strike recently. The bolt entered his scrotum and left through his foot, burning his testicles.

A report out of Madrid explains the 53-year-old man’s ordeal when lightning struck one of the most sensitive areas of a man’s genitalia.

As Le Mundo writes (in Spanish), he was walking on Avenida de La Ilustración in Madrid’s suburb Tres Cantos when the lightning struck his scrotum through his pants. The charge coursed down one of his legs and travelled to the sidewalk through his foot. He fell unconscious.

He fell unconscious did he? Was that before or after a 20 minute scream?

But the best line in the whole story is this one.

Doctors say he got lucky: his heart and brain were not affected by the lightning.

Lucky? Yeah, that’s exactly how he felt!

I’m pretty sure that’s not how he felt about it. I mean… after passing enough voltage to light Manhattan through his “crown jewels”! Now, if it was me, I’d be thinking how much luckier it would have been if the lightening had struck the lamppost next to me and I’d just jumped a lot *.

* Actually, this exact thing happened to me outside Wigan. I was taking a short cut home, driving down a country lane, and lightning hit the lamppost about 3 metres in front of my car. The sparks landed on cars bonnet (hood) and the noise was deafening. My language was choice.

unconscious

Leave a Reply

