Want to post a comment on the LA Times Website? – Time to sell your privacy

I was going to post a comment about this story on the LA Times website. Essentially my comment is this;

To fire in excess of 90 rounds at this kid, that would mean that all eight officers must have emptied their service weapons and perhaps even reloaded. Isn’t that the very definition of overkill?

Why not just call in a drone strike while they are at it?!

Are the LAPD such poor marksmen that it takes that many bullets to stop and unnarmed 19 year old?

I don’t deny that in the heat of the moment, the shooting appears to be lawful. But 90 rounds? Triffle excessive don’t you think?

But I’m not going to post it. Because my options of how I want to post it come with catches, infringement of my privacy and some downright bloody liberties!

Option 1: Twitter

  • Read Tweets from your timeline.
  • See who you follow, and follow new people.
  • Update your profile.
  • Post Tweets for you.

So they can update my profile and post tweets as though I’d sent them. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!

Option 2: Google

Grant access to

  • My email address
  • Country
  • Language
  • Google Contacts

No big deal, just all my contacts. So they can SPAM them.

Option 3: Yahoo!

Allow sharing of

  • My Yahoo! profile and,
  • Connections info (ie address book)
  • Allow LA Times to share information with Yahoo!

Yeah, I’ll hand over my address book no problem. Oh, and sell my LA Times info to Yahoo!, no problem.

Option 4: My Space

Slightly better, but is it really?

The service you are linking to is not provided by Myspace. If you choose to link to this service, it may share your data in accordance with the privacy policy of and your privacy settings on the linked service.

To revoke access to this linked service and for more information visit the External Apps section of your Myspace account settings.

So you might find that you cannot block your information to LA Times, it’s not 100% clear.

 

Option 5: The one I took.

Post my comment on WordPress and bitch about the way OpenID is being used as a mechanism to gain unwarranted access to your personal information that most people probably don’t even notice before they sign up.

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

